Our Stories

Willamette Students and Alumni Bring in National Honors

Thirteen Willamette students and alumni received a total of 15 national scholarships and fellowships this spring.

Fulbright Grant for U.S. Students

Kate D'Ambrosio '06, Emily Johnson '08 and Ali Maki '09 received Fulbright grants for study and research in other countries.

D’Ambrosio is heading to Australia to research wildfire response policies in collaboration with RMIT University and the Australian National Bushfire Cooperative Research Center. She majored in history and politics at Willamette. Johnson, who majored in French, is going to Benin to research interconnections between climate change and the gendered effects of malaria. Maki, an art history and Spanish major, will teach English in a bilingual high school in Madrid, Spain.

NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Ali Maki ’09 also received a NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, which provides $7,500 for graduate school. The scholarship goes to student-athletes in their final year of intercollegiate competition who excel both academically and athletically.

Maki competed on the cross country and track and field teams at Willamette.

BMI Student Composer Award

Phil Taylor '11 won a BMI Student Composer Award, one of the most coveted and prestigious awards for young composers in the Western Hemisphere. The awards are made annually for compositions submitted by students actively engaged in the study of music. Taylor's award-winning work, Metamorphosis, is for violin, horn and piano.

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship

Monica Rother '05 and Jennifer Bufford '08 received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships, which provide thousands of dollars annually for up to three years to students with extraordinary promise in the sciences, mathematics or engineering.

Rother, who majored in environmental science at Willamette, is pursuing a master's degree in geography at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Bufford, who majored in biology, is working toward a PhD in botany at the University of Hawaii, Manoa.

SHEAR/Mellon Undergraduate Fellow and Gilder Lehrman History Scholar

Alicia Maggard '10, a history and classical studies major, won two prestigious history research fellowships. She will spend several weeks this summer working on her senior thesis research in Philadelphia through the SHEAR/Mellon Undergraduate Fellowship Program at the McNeil Center at the University of Pennsylvania. Then she will head to New York as a Gilder Lehrman History Scholar, where she will visit historical collections and complete a research project on Abraham Lincoln.

Morris K. Udall Scholarship

Tucker Mottl '11 won the  Morris K. Udall Scholarship for students committed to careers related to the environment. The scholarship encourages leadership across a wide spectrum of environmental fields, including policy, engineering, science, education, urban planning, business and economics. Mottl is majoring in chemistry with a minor in environmental science.

Bill Emerson National Hunger Fellowship

Amy Johnson '08 was selected for the Bill Emerson National Hunger Fellowship, a project of the Congressional Hunger Center. She will spend half a year with community-based organizations involved in fighting hunger and poverty on the local level, followed by another half a year in Washington, D.C., working on the same issues at national organizations.

Kemper Scholars Program

RoseAnn Glade '12 and Erika Mosqueda '12 were selected for the Kemper Scholars Program, which prepares students for leadership and service, especially in the fields of administration and business. The students will receive annual scholarships and stipends for internships during the summers after their sophomore and junior years.

Datatel Scholarship

Hannah Leland '10 and Charlotte Osborne '11 won scholarships from the Datatel Scholars Foundation, which awards students attending eligible Datatel client institutions. Leland is a music major and accomplished violinist who plans to obtain a master's degree in performance and teach other young musicians. Osborne is a biochemistry major who plans a career in bioorganic research.

Additionally, Jared Nishikawa '10 received an honorable mention from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Program for students with exceptional promise and interest in careers in math, the sciences or engineering.

For information about any of these awards, visit Student Academic Grants and Awards or contact Monique Bourque at (503) 370-6607.