Professor Richard B. Hagedorn appointed to the Van Winkle Melton Endowed Professorship

Professor Richard B. Hagedorn has been appointed to the Van Winkle Melton Endowed Professorship at Willamette University College of Law. This Professorship, which recognizes excellence in teaching and scholarship, was established in 2000 through a generous bequest from Rosalind Van Winkle Melton, a 1931 Willamette graduate. The gift honors Ms. Melton's father, Isaac Homer Van Winkle, a 1901 Willamette graduate. Van Winkle served as the sixth Dean of the College of Law for 14 years and as Oregon's Attorney General for 23 years.

Hagedorn graduated from Willamette College of Law in 1973 and has taught at Willamette for the past 19 years. During this period, he has taught almost as many Willamette law students as the legendary Professor John C. Paulus who had taught at Willamette for 36 years.

"Professor Hagedorn's 26-year career as a law professor has been characterized by consistently enthusiastic and even effusive praise from his students," says Symeon Symeonides, Dean of the College of Law. "He's received five teaching awards at four different law schools. It's an honor to have him teaching at Willamette College of Law."

Hagedorn began his legal career in 1973 with the firm of Weatherford, Thompson, Horton & Jordan, where he became a partner in three years. In 1977, he began teaching at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law and, in the same year, received the Best Teacher award "for consistent teaching excellence and sincere concern for students."

In 1979, he joined the faculty of Gonzaga University School of Law, where he received tenure in 1983. In 1980, he received the "Lewis Halsey Orland Award for Most Distinguished Teacher." In 1982, while he was a visiting professor at the University of Oregon School of Law, the students honored him with the Professor of the Year award.

Hagedorn joined the Willamette law faculty in 1984, first as visiting professor. He received the SBA's first Outstanding Law Professor Award in 1993 and Willamette University's United Methodist Exemplary Teaching Award in 1996.