Alumni Awards

Bearcats across the generations and around the world live out our motto and contribute to their communities, professions and causes in a variety of ways. The Alumni Association seeks to celebrate our own and pay tribute to those who exemplify our common calling — Non nobis solum nati sumus. Nominate a Bearcat today!

Honoring accomplished Bearcats

The WUAA seeks to honor the achievements of our community! The Alumni Awards Committee is a group of alumni volunteers comprised of members of the WUAA Board of Directors. The committee thoroughly reviews nominations and recommends the slate of finalists to the full Board of Directors for approval by vote. See more details about the alumni awards below.

The 2016 Alumni Awards Committee is chaired by Linda Getchell Lewis '79.

Meet the 2015 Recipients

Elizabeth Phillips '05
Young Alumni Leadership Award

Yesenia Gallardo '09
Young Alumni Leadership Award

Harold Bugado '66
Distinguished Alumni Citation

Cindy Bunker '80, JD'83
Distinguished Alumni Citation

Mary Sue Gellatly Short '64
Distinguished Alumni Citation

G. Elton Graves '69
Distinguished Alumni Citation

Paul Boaden '77
Lestle J. Sparks Medallion

Each year, we recognize alumni with the following awards

  • The Young Alumni Leadership Award recognizes graduates from the past 10 years for outstanding leadership in their vocation, community service and service to the University.
  • The Distinguished Alumni Citation recognizes Willamette graduates who, in professional achievement and service to their communities, represent the University in an exemplary manner by embodying its highest ideals as exemplified in our motto "Not Unto Ourselves Alone Are We Born."
  • The Sparks Medallion recognizes graduates whose lifetime loyalty and service to Willamette reflect the ideals of one of the University's most devoted alumni, Lestle J. Sparks '19.

Nominations for these awards come from you

If you know of someone doing remarkable things, we would love to know about it! Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis for the following year's selection. The deadline for 2016 Alumni Awards is November 30, 2015. Nominators need not be affiliated with Willamette. See the criteria for awards for complete details.

Please submit your nominations through the official nomination form (use the online nomination form or call the alumni office to request a PDF or hard copy). By completing the specified fields you will enable the committee in their review. You may also submit supporting documentation including curriculum vitae, resume, letters of recommendation, magazine or newspaper clippings, or relevant articles. Nominations will be held in consideration for three years.

Celebrating award recipients

Alumni Award recipients are announced each May, and a celebratory awards ceremony takes place during Alumni Weekend each year.

Nominate a Bearcat today | See all past Alumni Award recipients | Awards criteria