Willamette University, Students at the Mill Stream

2009 Faculty Awards

The 2009 faculty awards were announced April 30 at the annual Faculty Awards Ceremony on campus. Here is a listing of this year's awards and their recipients:

Lawrence D. Cress Award for Excellence in Faculty Scholarship

This award recognizes the important relationship between research and the undergraduate experience and often involves faculty-student joint research. The collaborative research process facilitates a seamless connection between the scholar enterprise and the teaching enterprise.

Patricia Varas, College of Liberal Arts, Spanish

Jerry E. Hudson Award for Excellence in Teaching

This award celebrates distinguished teaching and leadership by a faculty member.

Miho Fujiwara, College of Liberal Arts, Japanese
Ross Runkel, College of Law

United Methodist Award for Exemplary Teaching and Service

This honor celebrates not only the extraordinary impact a professor can have inside the classroom, but it also recognizes the dramatic role a faculty member can have within our community.

David McCreery, College of Liberal Arts, Religious Studies
Robert E. Wiltbank, Atkinson Graduate School


Professor of the Year

This award is chosen exclusively by Willamette students and is presented by Mortar Board.

Miho Fujiwara, College of Liberal Arts, Japanese

Richard Iltis Award for Lifetime Achievement

This award is presented by Mortar Board to a retiring professor for a lifetime of honorable service to the students, staff, Willamette University, the community, and to their profession.

Jim Hanson, College of Liberal Arts, Economics