Willamette Athletes are Ready for NCAA Track and Field Championships

Kingstad, Freeby and Ostrander to Compete in Prelims on Thursday

By Robert McKinney, Athletics Communications Director, (503) 370-6110

DELAWARE, OHIO -- Willamette University will be represented by six athletes at the 2014 NCAA Division III Track and Field Championships this week at Selby Stadium/George Gauthier Track on the campus of Ohio Wesleyan University. Three Bearcats will be in action on Thursday, May 22 during the first of three days of competition.

Michaela Freeby (Jr., Milwaukie, OR/Rex Putnam HS) and Taylor Ostrander (So., Soldotna, AK/Kenai Central HS) will run in Thursday's preliminary heats in the women's 3,000-meter steeplechase. Freeby is set to compete in the first heat, set for 4:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. PDT. Ostrander is scheduled to participate in the second heat.

The top five finishers in each preliminary heat, plus the runners with the next four fastest times, will advance to the steeplechase finals, set for Saturday, May 24 at 1 p.m. EDT/10 a.m. PDT.

Kit Kingstad (Sr., Beaverton, OR/Beaverton HS) will compete in the first of two preliminary heats in the men's 1,500-meter run. The heat is slated to begin at 6:15 p.m. EDT/3:15 p.m. PDT. The top four runners in each heat, as well as athletes with the next four fastest times, will move on to the finals, which are scheduled for Saturday at 2:10 p.m. EDT/11:10 a.m. PDT.

Freeby and Kingstad are competing at the NCAA Championships for the third year in a row, while Ostrander is making her second consecutive appearance at the event. Freeby placed 13th in the steeplechase in 2012 and earned All-America honors in 2013 by placing fourth. Kingstad took 16th place in 2012 and was 17th in 2013. Ostrander placed 22nd in the steeplechase last year.

Kingstad qualified for this year's championships with a season-best time of 3:50.72 at the Oregon Twilight. Freeby achieved her spot in the steeplechase with a season-best result of 10:44.52 at the Willamette vs. Corban Dual, while Ostrander attained a career-best time of 10:40.86 at the Oregon Twilight.

The Bearcats will not be competing in any events on Friday.

In addition to finals on the track, Saturday's schedule features competition in three field events involving the Bearcats. Meka Townsend (So., Okanogan, WA/Okanogan HS) will participate in the first of two flights in the women's javelin throw, which gets underway at 12 p.m. EDT/9 a.m. PDT.

Jordan Loos (Jr., Springfield, OR/Thurston HS) will compete in the first of two flights in the men's javelin throw, which starts at 3 p.m. EDT/12 p.m. PDT. Bekah Daniel (Sr., Jr. elig., Silverdale, WA/Central Kitsap HS) is scheduled at the end of the second flight in the women's triple jump, which also begins at 3 p.m. EDT/12 p.m. PDT.

The top nine athletes overall in the preliminary flights will advance immediately to the finals in the field events.

Loos qualified for the national meet with a school record distance of 214' 7" while winning the javelin title at the NWC Championships. Townsend earned a personal record of 138' 8" to place second at the NWC Championships. Daniel set a Willamette record by leaping 38' 6.75" at the West Coast Invitational.

Willamette University at the
2014 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships


Thursday, May 22

Michaela Freeby
Women's 3,000-meter steeplechase, Prelims (1:30 p.m. PDT)

Taylor Ostrander
Women's 3,000-meter steeplechase, Prelims (1:30 p.m. PDT)

Kit Kingstad
Men's 1,500-meter run, Prelims (3:15 p.m. PDT)

Friday, May 23

No events involving Willamette athletes

Saturday, May 24

Meka Townsend
Women's javelin throw, Prelims followed by Finals (9 a.m. PDT)

Finals on the Track
Finals will be held in the women's 3,000-meter steeplechase (10 a.m. PDT) and the men's 1,500-meter run (11:10 a.m.)

Jordan Loos
Men's javelin throw, Prelims followed by Finals (12 p.m. PDT)

Bekah Daniel
Women's triple jump, Prelims followed by Finals (12 p.m. PDT)


OFFICIAL WEBSITE

2014 NCAA Division III
Track and Field Championships
At Selby Stadium
Ohio Wesleyan University
Delaware, Ohio
May 22-24

Schedule
Live Video
Live Results

Taylor Ostrander will run in the 3,000-meter steeplechase for the second year in a row. She earned a personal record time of 10:40.86 at the Oregon Twilight on May 9.

Taylor Ostrander will run in the 3,000-meter steeplechase for the second year in a row. She earned a personal record time of 10:40.86 at the Oregon Twilight on May 9.