Institute for Modern Government

Board of Directors

John Radford, Chair
Former Oregon State Controller, President and Lifetime Member, National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers, and Treasurers (NASACT); President and Lifetime Member, National Association of State Comptrollers; Founding Officer and Past Board member, National Electronic Commerce Coordinating Council (NECCO), Founding Officer and Past Board member, Association of Government Accountability (AGA)

Gary Weeks, Vice-Chair
Former Director, Oregon Department of Human Services, Oregon Department of Administrative Services, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business, Oregon State Lottery; Director: Casey Strategic Consulting Group and the Annie E. Casey Foundation; Former Director Washington Department of Labor and Industries. President/CEO Washington Health Care Association; Retired Trustee of the Financial Accounting Association (FAF).

Judy Lathrop, Treasurer/Secretary
Former Deputy Chief Financial Officer for Department of Human Services (DHS), Financial Services Accounting Manager for Vocational Rehabilitation Department and Adult and Family Services (AFS).

Catherine Webber, Board Member and CEO
Former State Senator, State Records Manager, Business Manager, Administrator, Parole Board Member, Appellate Law Clerk, Sr. Policy Advisor to Governor, IT Policy Analyst. Founding member of Certificate in Public Management program and Institute for Modern Government.

Kathy Graham, Board Member
Law Professor & Associate Dean, Willamette University College of Law; Attorney, Trial Attorney, Oregon Attorney General's Office; Counsel, Pacific Gas and Electric.

Mike Marsh, Board Member
Former Deputy Director for the Department of Transportation; Administrator of the State Facilities Division; Administrator of State Budget & Management; Executive Professor Willamette University, Atkinson Graduate School of Management.

Susan Wilson, Board Member
Former Administrator, Oregon State Human Resource Services Division, Administrative Services Director, Oregon Department of Justice; Legislative Administrator, Oregon Legislative Assembly, Contributing Associate Professor, Atkinson Graduate School of Management, Willamette University

Jon Dufrene, Board Member
Former Chief Financial Officer at Oregon Public Employees Retirement Board (PERS), Manager of the Statewide Financial Services section responsible for the state's expanding e-commerce initiative, and special projects coordinator with the State Controller's Division responsible for the Statewide Accounting System.

John McGinn, Board Member,

Former Director, Business Services, Dept. of Agriculture, Interim Director, Oregon Employment Department, Financial Services · Championed the development and implementation of a statewide financial services data warehouse with analytics and query tools; implemented State credit card purchasing system

Fred Thompson, Ex Officio Member
Professor, Atkinson Graduate School of Management, Willamette University ; Grace and Elmer Goudy Professor of Public Management and Policy Analysis; Director, Center for Governance and Policy Research ; Visiting Professor & Senior Fellow, London School of Economics, Department of Management & Centre for Risk & Regulation; Senior Research Economist, Economic Counsel of Canada.

Tim Johnson, Ex Officio Board Member
Assistant Professor of Public Management and Public Policy, Willamette University, Atkinson Graduate School of Management, PreDoctoral Research Fellow, Max P:lanck Institute, berlin Germany.

Madhu Rho, Ex Officio Member
Senior Associate Dean at Willamette University’s Atkinson Graduate School of Management; department chair, associate dean, senior associate dean and interim dean of the College of Business Administration at Bowling Green.

Board Members’ Areas of Expertise

  • Information Technology
  • Financial Management
  • Contracting and Procurement
  • Public Sector Human Capital
  • Modernization
  • Public Management/Administration