AGSM professor awarded endowed professorship

by University Communications,

Tim Johnson will become the third Grace and Elmer Goudy Professor of Public Management and Policy Analysis.

Tim Johnson, associate professor of public management and public policy at Willamette University’s Atkinson Graduate School of Management, has been named by President Thorsett the third recipient of the Grace and Elmer Goudy Professorship in Public Management and Policy Analysis effective June 1, 2017. On that same date, Johnson will become director of Willamette University’s Center for Governance and Public Policy.

Tim Johnson

Over the past decade, Johnson’s interdisciplinary research has answered questions about the social and psychological drivers of cooperation, the political values of unelected public officials, and the consequences of public policies that facilitate military veterans’ transitions into the civilian labor market.

Due to this research and his work in the classroom, Johnson was named a finalist for the Aspen Institute’s Faculty Pioneer Award in 2014, along with other top business school faculty in the world who study and teach about interactions between the public and private sectors. Johnson also received Willamette University’s Jerry E. Hudson Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2013 and was named the Atkinson Graduate School of Management’s Faculty Member of the Year in 2015.

The original Elmer and Grace Goudy Professorship of Public Administration was established by the Collins Foundation to honor Elmer R. Goudy and Grace Collins Goudy. A graduate of Willamette University, Grace Collins Goudy served as president of the Collins Holding Company and was a devoted Willamette University trustee.

William A. Medina (1981–1985) and G. Frederick Thompson (1986–2015) precede Johnson in this professorship. Both exemplified the ideals of the Goudy and Collins families — a commitment to the improvement of public service, excellence in teaching and impactful research.

Johnson is originally from Butte, Montana, and was raised in Portland. He holds a BA with honors from the University of Oregon and a PhD from Stanford University.

Related Story

Chemistry professor secures $325K National Science Foundation grant

David Griffith and senior research students study estrogen in aquatic environments.

Related Story

New housing changes help first-year students find common ground

First-Year Commons will include Terra, Belknap, Cascadia and Matthews halls and Baxter Complex.

Related Story

Six faculty granted tenure for 2017–18 academic year

The university recognized Anna Cox, Brandi Row Lazzarini, Roy Pérez, Abigail Susik, Karen Sandrik and Kawika Pierson for their teaching, scholarship and service.

Related Story

Willamette Law's Jonathan Mayes JD'87 appointed chief diversity officer for Albertsons Cos.

Mayes has worked for Safeway and Albertsons since 1994.