National Fellowships

Environmental Research and Education Foundation

Official site:
Final Deadline: Spring 2017, Check Website

EREF now offers a variety of scholarships and programs.

"Scholarships are awarded by EREF to recognize excellence in master's, doctoral or post-doctoral waste management research and education. Awards to doctoral students are given in memory of Francois Fiessinger, P.E., Ph.D., a graduate of Rutgers University, who was a founding director of the foundation; and by the Environmental Research and Education Foundation. Awards to master's students are given by Robert P. Stearns, P.E., DEE/SCS Engineers, former Chairman of EREF, and by Robert J. Riethmiller/PTR Baler and Compactor, current Chairman of the Scholarship Committee." ~from Website

Applicants are to be or will be a current full-time master's student, doctoral student, or post-doctoral researcher who has clearly demonstrated interest in solid waste management research. Award amounts consider tuition costs at recipient's institution and any other funds received. Doctoral and post-doctoral scholarships are awarded up to $12,000 per year, extendable up to 3 years. Master's scholarships are awarded up to $5,000 per year, extendable up to 2 years. Renewal dependent upon satisfactory progress as determined by student's academic advisor.

Please visit the website for more information.