National Fellowships

USDA/1890 National Scholars

Official site:
Final Deadline: TBA, Check Website

The program is a major effort of the United States Department of Agriculture and the eighteen 1890 Historically Black Land-Grant Institutions, to award scholarships to students to attend one of the eighteen universities and study agriculture, food, or natural resource sciences.

Students must be US citizens with a GPA of 3.0 or better entering their freshman year.

The scholarship provides:

  • Full tuition;
  • Fees;
  • Books;
  • Room and board for each of the 4 Academic years.;
  • Use of a laptop computer, printer, and software while on the scholarship;
  • Employment with the USDA during the summer and after graduation;
  • Employee benefits while employed with the USDA;

The eighteen Universities are:

  • Alabama A&M University, Normal, AL
  • Alcorn State University, Lorman, MS
  • Delaware State University, Dover, DE
  • Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, FL
  • Fort Valley State University,
  • Fort Valley, GA
  • Kentucky State University, Frankfort, KY
  • Langston University, Langston, OK
  • Lincoln University, Jefferson City, MO
  • North Carolina A&T University, Greensboro, NC
  • Prairie View A&M University,
  • Prairie View, TX
  • South Carolina State University, Orangeburg, SC
  • Southern University, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Tennessee State University, Nashville, TN
  • Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL
  • University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff, AR
  • University of Maryland-Eastern Shore,
  • Princess Anne, MD
  • Virginia State University, Petersburg, VA
  • West Virginia State University,
  • Institute, WV
Visit the website for more information.