New Music at Willamette

New Music at Willamette is a series of concerts, residencies and lectures dedicated to the music of our time. Founded in 1990 by composer-in-residence John Peel, Irene Gerlinger Swindells Professor of Music, the series is supported with funds associated with the Swindells Chair and with additional support from the College of Arts & Sciences. Since the Fall of 2019, the series is curated by Dr. Mike Nord.

Among the new music ensembles that have been invited to the University for residencies and concerts sponsored by New Music at Willamette are:

  • Cuarteto Latinoamericano
  • California Ear Unit
  • Fear no Music
  • Viklarbo
  • Third Angle New Music Ensemble
  • Oregon Symphony String Quartet
  • Beta Collide
  • University of Oregon Percussion Ensemble

Distinguished soloists and conductors that have appeared in New Music at Willamette concerts and master-classes include:

  • Susan Narucki, soprano
  • Christopher Kendall, conductor
  • Anthony Korf, conductor
  • Janice Johnson, soprano
  • Rolf Schulte, violinist
  • Alan Feinberg, piano
  • Charles Dowd, percussionist
  • Jeffrey Payne, pianist
  • Stephen Mosko, conductor

Composers who have participated in residencies, lectures and master-classes as part of New Music at Willamette include:

  • Milton Babbitt
  • Robert Morris
  • Wayne Slawson
  • Stephen Albert
  • Conrad Pope
  • Robert Kyr
  • Benjamin Carson
  • Erik Lundborg
Willamette University

Music Department

900 State Street
Salem Oregon 97301 U.S.A.

Back to Top