Hon. Edward H. Howell Mentor of the Year 

The Mentor of the Year award was established in 1993 and is named after the late Justice Edward H. Howell who was an enthusiastic mentor of Willamette law students. Justice Howell was a member of the Oregon Supreme Court from 1970 to 1980 when he retired and became active in the early Willamette student mentoring program. During his first two years of mentoring, Judge Howell took on five law students. His five students wished to recognize his outstanding contribution to their personal and professional growth. And, so, the Mentor of the Year award was established in his name. The criteria used for mentor of the year are based upon Justice Howell’s mentoring attributes and can be a combination of personal and professional. It includes:

  • Assisting with understanding real practice of law
  • Help with adjusting to law school
  • Willingness to help the student/mentee
  • Exceeding expectations
  • Creativity in advice, discussions, get-togethers
  • Initiative in arranging meetings, making suggestions

Mary Mertens James Award

The Hon. Mary Mertens James Award is named after Judge James, who has mentored Willamette students since 1997. She was awarded the Mentor of the Year in 1999. Since then she was nominated on many occasions by her students. From 2008 to 2013, she was nominated every single year. The award recognizes long term and consistent excellence in mentoring. To receive the award, the mentor must be nominated at least five times for the Hon. Edward H. Howell Mentor of the Year. This award is not given every year.


Willamette University

Office of Career Planning and Development

Willamette University College of Law
245 Winter Street SE
Salem Oregon 97301 U.S.A.
(503) 370-6458

Back to Top