The following prizes and awards are available to College of Law students:

  1. Awards Recognizing Overall Accomplishment
  2. Awards Recognizing Achievement in a Particular Class

1. Awards Recognizing Overall Accomplishment

Aristeion Symeon Symeonides Valedictory Award
Established in 2010, this award shall be given every year at May Commencement to the student with the highest GPA in the College of Law graduating class. The award is also accompanied by a commemorative plaque and a medallion to be worn at Commencement. This award was named for and funded by the 19th dean of the College of Law, Symeon C. Symeonides.

Ted and Dorothy Butler Law Scholarship*
In 1980, Professor Ted Butler, retired from the College of Law after teaching for 31 years. Professor Ted Butler was well-liked by both students and faculty. This scholarship fund was established with alumni gifts made in Professor Butler’s honor in 1980, and is awarded annually to the full-time student making the most progress from the end of the first year of study to the end of the second year of study, based on cumulative grade point average (GPA) change. Professor Butler passed away in 2000.

International Academy of Trial Lawyers Award
This award is presented annually to a third-year student who, in the judgment of the faculty, has distinguished himself or herself in the field of courtroom advocacy on the basis of performance in trial practice competitions, contributions to the trial practice programs of the College of Law, academic record in courses related to trial practice, overall academic record, performance in moot court competitions, and law-related work experience.

National Association of Women Lawyers Outstanding Law Graduate Award
This award is presented to the graduating student who best represents the following criteria: contributes to the advancement of women in society; promotes issues and concerns of women in the legal profession; exhibits motivation, tenacity and enthusiasm; demonstrates academic achievement; and earns the respect of deans and faculty. The award consists of a one year honorary membership in the Association.

Frank A. Turner Award *
Mrs. Joy Turner Moses, an alumna of the University, Class of 1911, bequeathed $750 to the College of Law in memory of her father, Frank A. Turner (LLB 1898), from which the annual income is awarded to the full-time first-year or second-year law student maintaining the highest scholastic standing (GPA) for the entire year.

Willamette University College of Law
Col. Rupert E. Park Jr. Pro Bono Student of the Year Award
This award reflects Willamette's commitment to upholding and celebrating the professional obligation of all attorneys to provide pro bono legal assistance. It is presented to a third-year student who has consistently demonstrated commitment to volunteer representation of low-income people in need of legal assistance. Students receive no remuneration or academic credit for their services.

2. Awards Recognizing Achievement in a Particular Class

ALI-ABA Scholarship & Leadership Award
This scholarship and leadership award is given to the graduate who best represents a combination of qualities that embody the American Law Institute and the American Bar Association.

American Bankruptcy Institute Award
The ABI Medal Program issues a bankruptcy award to the student receiving the highest grade in the Debtor-Creditor class. 

Nathan Burkan Memorial Award
This award is presented to the student who, in the judgment of the Dean, has written the best essay on Copyright Law.

The Civil Rights Award
This award is given to the student receiving the highest grade in Civil Rights Litigation. 

Roy Lockenour Award for Professional Responsibility *
Established in 1983, this cash award is given each year to the student(s) receiving the highest grade in the Professional Responsibility classes. It is named for the 8th dean of the College of Law who served as dean from 1932-1940. 

Oregon State Bar Securities Regulation Section Award
The Oregon State Bar gives this award each year to the student receiving the highest grade in Securities Regulation.

Bruce Spalding Memorial Award for Trial Advocacy *
Established in 1991 to honor this 1930 WUCL graduate who passed away in 1990, this cash award is presented to the outstanding student in the Fall Semester and to the outstanding student in the Spring Semester of the Trial Practice Programs. 

Tax Executives Institute Award
This award is given to law student(s) showing an interest in pursuing a career in business taxation law. 

Isaac Van Winkle Award *
Established in 1984 with an estate gift from Van Winkle’s daughter, Rosalind Melton (BA ’31), this prize is awarded annually to those law students who achieved the highest grades in Constitutional Law I. Isaac Van Winkle (LLB 1901) was WUCL’s sixth dean (1913-1927), and served six terms as Oregon Attorney General until retiring in 1943.

Note: Those prizes/awards identified with an asterisk (*) are presented to returning students in the following academic year.

Willamette University

Office of Student Affairs

College of Law
245 Winter Street SE
Salem Oregon 97301 U.S.A.
(503) 370-6380

Back to Top