Skip to main content

Benefits Advisory Committee

Committee Purpose

The purpose of the Benefits Advisory Committee is two-fold:

  1. Dissemination of information back to other groups
  2. Generation of "ideas" and review of possible options for benefits changes that impact the total rewards program for faculty and staff

This is not a decision-making committee, but it does influence the benefits that are made available to Willamette faculty and staff and serves as a focus group for considerations.

The Benefit Advisory Committee is often the first group of people to see presentations from new prospective benefit vendors. A secondary focus, historically, has been on our Wellness programs. As a result, this committee has undoubtedly had a positive influence on Willamette's benefit programs and offerings to faculty and staff over the years.

If you think you might be interested in serving on the committee in the future, contact Human Resources to discuss the nature of the commitment and potential meeting schedules.

Benefits Advisory Committee Members

  • Leslie Berning – Executive Support Assistant, Atkinson Dean's Office
  • Danita Chapin – Director of Risk Management
  • Mike Long – Benefits & Compensation Manager, Human Resources
  • Laura Taylor – Associate Professor of Economics
  • Raechelle Mascarenhas - Associate Professor of Economics
  • Rick Watkins - Professor of Physics
  • Dana Monaghan – Assistant Vice President for Human Resources
  • Rey Del Valle – Payroll Manager, Human Resources
  • Kenneth Pifer – Controller, Finance & Accounting
  • Qiming Wang – Associate Professor of Finance
  • Shana Sechrist – Vice President of Human Resources and Risk Management; Deputy General Counsel
  • Eddie Ulshafer – Electrician, Building Maintenance
  • Daniel Valles – Vice President for Finance and Treasurer
Willamette University

Human Resources

University Services Building
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem Oregon 97301 U.S.A.
503-370-6210 voice
503-370-6570 fax