About ASWU Judicial

ASWU’s Judicial Branch consists of three Justices. These seats are filled for two consecutive semesters via presidential nomination and senatorial approval.

Once the five seats are filled, the Senate nominates one of the five Justices to serve as Chief Justice, a seat responsible for guiding the Judicial Branch and facilitating Senate meetings as the Senate Parliamentarian.

ASWU Justices are constitutionally assigned the following responsibilities:

  • To hold legislative and executive branches accountable to standards set by the Constitution and subsequent legislation.
  • To notify Senate 48 hours prior to the “final vote” on legislation if changes need to be made to the proposed action.
  • To review the actions of Executive Board members at their discretion.
  • To facilitate removal hearings and processes of ASWU Officers and Senators.
Willamette University

Associated Students of Willamette University

University Center Second Floor, SEAL Office
900 State Street
Salem Oregon 97301 U.S.A.

Back to Top