Faculty Award Recipients

Faculty Member of the Year

As voted by the graduating class, the award is given to the faculty member whose teaching has had a significant impact on the class. 

2023 – Leroy J. Tornquist

2022 – Kelly Gamble

2021 – Jeffrey Dobbins 

Jerry Hudson Award

The Jerry E. Hudson Award for Excellence in Teaching is awarded annually to one professor from each college at Willamette University who demonstrates excellence in teaching and distinguished leadership. The award was established in 1998  to honor Willamette University's 22nd president, Jerry E. Hudson. Hudson guided the university through massive expansion during his 17-year tenure between 1980 and 1997. Each college dean recommends a recipient based upon student course evaluations and proven leadership on and off campus. Recommendations are presented to the university's president for final selection. 

2019 – Amy Meyers

2018 – Aaron Simowitz

2017 – Karen Sandrik

2016 – Jeffrey Dobbins

2014 – Robin Morris Collin

2013 – Vince Chiapetta

2012 – David Friedman

2011 – Keith Cunningham-Parmeter

2010 – Richard Hagedorn & Kathy Graham 

2009 – Ross Runkel

2007 – Legal Research & Writing Team (LRW - Ed Harri, Marcia “Sam” Jacobson, Helen Mazur-Hart & Jennifer Todd)

2006 – Yvonne Tomayo

2004 – Robert Art

2003 – Jeff Standen

2002 – Vince Chiapetta

2001 – Claudia Burton

1999 – Valerie J. Vollmar

Larry D. Cress Award for Excellence in Faculty Scholarship

(formerly known as the President's Excellence in Scholarship)

2000 – James Nafziger

Professor of the Year

(presented by Mortar Board)

2008 – Keith Cunningham-Parmeter

2007 – Leroy J. Tornquist

2003 – Steven Green 

Robert L. Misner Award for Faculty Scholarship

The Robert L. Misner Award for Law Faculty Scholarship is awarded each year to a Willamette University College of Law professor whose scholarship has contributed significantly to the national or international legal canon. The award was established in 2004 by Kathi Misner to honor her late husband, Professor of Law and former College of Law Dean Robert L. Misner. Misner taught at the college from 1984 until his death in 2000 and was dean from 1987 to 1994. The awardee is selected by the College of Law dean based upon recent or overall scholarly impact. 

2023 – Caroline Davidson

2019 – David Friedman

2018 – Andrew Gilden

2017 – Peter Molk

2016 – Symeon Symeonides

2015 – Keith Cunningham-Parmeter

2014 – Steven Green

2013 – Paul Diller

2012 – Symeon Symeonides

2011 – Laura Appleman

2010 – Paul Diller

2006 – Symeon Symeonides

2005 – Norman Williams

2003 – Jeff Standen

United Methodist 

The Exemplary Teacher of the Year Award recognizes faculty at United Methodist schools, colleges, and universities who have demonstrated remarkable teaching, leadership and commitment to value-centered education. Presented annually, the award is a faculty honor supported by the United Methodist Church’s General Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

2022 – Kelly Gamble 

2008 – Dean Richardson

1996 – Richard Hagedorn


Back to Top