The Glenn L. Jackson Leadership Award was created by the Atkinson Graduate School of Management at Willamette University in 1984 to recognize extraordinary entrepreneurial and civic leadership benefiting the State of Oregon. The Award seeks to recognize public and private leadership in the tradition of the late Glenn L. Jackson, a true Oregonian, who served as Chairman of Pacific Power and Light (now, PacifiCorp), Chairman of the Oregon Transportation Commission and owner of several entrepreneurial enterprises. Glenn L. Jackson believed in making the right thing happen for Oregon and had the capacity and drive to get things done. He serves as a civic leadership model for all Oregonians.

The Award was first presented to Gerald W. Frank, an outstanding Oregonian, community leader and entrepreneur. Mr. Frank presents the Award annually on behalf of Willamette University at the Atkinson Graduate School of Management's May Commencement exercises.

This Year's Recipient: Douglas E. Goe

Douglas Goe, a partner in the Orrick Law Firm - Portland office, is the vice chair for the firm’s Public Finance Department in the Pacific Northwest. He also is the partner-in-charge of Orrick’s Portland office. Doug focuses on public finance and municipal bond law, including federal, state and tribal tax and securities law issues.

Doug serves as bond counsel for the Oregon University System and Oregon Health and Science University. Doug also serves as the primary lead bond counsel for the Oregon Facilities Authority on higher education, hospital and other conduit 501(c)(3) revenue bond issues.

He also has served as bond counsel or underwriters counsel to conduit revenue bond issuers in the States of Washington, Oregon, California, Texas, Idaho, Wyoming, Mississippi, Alaska, and Wisconsin. Doug has served as bond counsel or underwriters counsel on nonprofit CCRC financings in California, Florida, Oregon, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin. In December 2012, Doug helped design and served as underwriters’ counsel on three series of revenue bonds which helped restructure more than $100 million of nonprofit debt for a CCRC located in Seattle, Washington.

Past Award Winners

1984 Gerald Frank

2001 Patsy Smullin

1985 Howard Vollum

2002 George Passadore

1986 Douglas Strain

2004 James H. Rudd

1987 William Healy

2005 Betsy Johnson and Elizabeth “Becky” Johnson

1988 Don Frisbee

2006 William D. Thorndike Jr.

1989 Oran Robertson

2007 Richard G. Reiten

1990 Bill Naito and Sam Naito

2009 Jim Bernau

1991 William Smullin

2010 A.W. “Bill” Sweet

1992 Eric Hoffman

2011 N. Christian Andersen III

1995 Ken and Joan Austin

2012 John D. Gray

1996 Robert Ridgley

2013 William "Bill" Wyatt

1997 Michael M. Powell

2014 Michael P. Hollern

1998 L. Martin Brantley

2015 Greg Walden

1999 Brett Wilcox

2016 Thomas J. Imeson

2000 StephenH. Corey

2017 Sandra McDonough


2018 Ted Kulongoski

douglas goe

2019 Recipient: Douglas Goe

Willamette University

Atkinson Graduate School of Management

Salem Campus

900 State Street
Salem Oregon 97301 U.S.A.

Portland Center

200 SW Market Street, Suite 101
Portland Oregon 97201 U.S.A.

Back to Top