Each year, the English Department spotlights students of particular accomplishment or distinction by awarding several prizes. Those prizes are:

1. The Mollie Mack Prize, given to recognize the most outstanding graduating woman student in English.

2014 winner: Brynn Raymond

2015 winner: Saran Walker

2. The John Dryden award, given to a graduating senior who has demonstrated particular insight in the study of literature and a genuine love of reading.

2014 winners: Jennie Miller and Hannah Staller

2015 winner: Amy Snodgrass

3. The Keck Scholarship, awarded to an English major of junior standing for use in his or her senior year. In awarding this scholarship, the English Department gives special consideration to a student pursuing training in writing rather than literature, and preferably a student planning to teach English and/or journalism.

2014 winner: Saran Walker

2015 winner: Christa Rohrbach

4. The Hallie Brown Ford Award in Creative Writing, presented to one or two graduating seniors for dedication to excellence in poetry, fiction, nonfiction, or dramatic writing.

2014 winners: Caitlin Gibson and James Volz

2015 winner: Christopher Ketchum

In addition, each year the English Department faculty also nominate top students for membership in Phi Beta Kappa’s Delta Chapter of Oregon.