Skip to main content

The Board of Trustees is Willamette’s governing body. They work to preserve and protect the institution by helping to define, support, and protect its mission and appropriately balance its obligations to current and future generations of students.

The board is composed of up to 60 volunteer trustees, a diverse group of leaders in their respective fields who share their talent, expertise, and resources to advance the university and who are united by a deep affection and commitment to Willamette.

The board establishes strategic policy and direction, oversees the university’s financial affairs, approves the university’s budget and major financial expenditures, program initiatives, and construction projects, and stewards the endowment and other capital resources. The board also appoints and supervises the President who serves as Willamette’s chief executive officer and who is also a trustee.

The board does not direct or participate in the day-to-day management or operations. Primary responsibility for the academic programs and management and operations of the university is delegated to the President, administration, and faculty.

The board meets in person three times a year–in October, February, and May. A committee structure provides the framework for the board to oversee the important functions for which it is responsible. Student and faculty representatives from each school participate in all board meetings together with the president’s leadership cabinet, and other invited guests.

2023-24 Board of Trustees

Janelle Bovell '08
Sr. Director, Risk, Legal, and Compliance Business Partner, Paypal

Robin O. Brena JD’83 MBA’83
Owner/Managing Attorney, Brena, Bell & Walker, P.C.

Bishop Cedrick Bridgeforth
Bishop, Greater Northwest Episcopal Area, The United Methodist Church

Katherine S. Cahill P’13
Managing Director, BlackRock, Inc. (Retired)

Charlotte P. Carpenter P’14
Director of Admissions and Marketing Strategy, Sage Ridge School (Retired)

Jeff Chung ’90
President, Allen Broadcasting Co.

Truman W. Collins, Jr. ’86
President, The Collins Foundation

Cortlandt A. Cuffee
Vice President & General Manager, Portland Market Sinclair Broadcast Group (KATU/KUNP)

James B. Cuno Ph.D. ’73
President/CEO, The J. Paul Getty Trust

Eloise Damrosch
Arts Administrator (Retired)

David A. Drinkward JD’07
President/CEO of Hoffman Construction Company

Julie D. Filizetti, Ed.D.
Partner, Isaacson, Miller

Bonnie B. Flynn ’97
Vice President of Finance Transformation and Strategy, NIKE Inc.

Jill Terry Hall ’82
Principal, Hall College Consulting

Bob D. Heck ’07, MBA’11
Wealth Advisor/Principal, Kiley Juergens Wealth Management, LLC

Mariam K. Higgins
Administrator, Portland Public Schools

Joseph F. Hoffman ’71
Partner/Board Member, KPMG LLP (Retired)

Brian R. Hufft ’01
Principal, Upward Partners

Linda Hutchins BFA'88
Visual Artist, Linda Hutchins Studio

Eva M. Kripalani JD’86
Co-Founder, Office of General Counsel Network, LLC

Konrad “Chip” R. Kruger P’15, P’16
Managing Member, Five Mile Capital Partners, LLC

Elizabeth J. Large JD’96
Co-Founder, Office of General Counsel Network, LLC

Michael S. Martinez ’00, MBA’11
CEO, Natural Plant Products, LLC

Kenneth W. Morris B.M.Ed.'75
Founder/CEO, KnectIQ, Inc.

Sean B. O'Hollaren ’83
Senior VP, Public Affairs Executive (Retired)

Heidi A. Patterson ’75
Biomedical Services, American Red Cross (Retired)

Reverend Karyn Richards-Kuan
Reverend, First United Methodist Church, Greater Northwest Episcopal Area

Lynn E. Ristig JD’85 MBA’85
Chief Counsel-Shared Services Group, The Boeing Company (Retired)

Sandy M. Rowe
Editor, The Oregonian (Retired)

Lynne H. Saxton ’76
Director, Oregon Health Authority (Retired)

Kevin R. Smith ’79
Head of the Americas, PGIM Real Estate (Retired)

Jon T. Thomsen ’92
CEO, Atmosera

Stephen E. Thorsett
President, Willamette University

Johnny C. Vong ’02
President, Blackfish Capital, LLC

Patrick J. Waite MM’84

Life Members

James F. Albaugh ’72
Chairman, National Aeronautic Association
President/CEO, Commercial Airplanes, The Boeing Company (Retired)

Julie E. Branford ’67
Global Director, Human Resources & Facilities, InFocus Corporation (Retired)

Donald G. Brown ’68
Dean Emeritus, Trinity Episcopal Cathedral-Sacramento, CA

Stewart M. Butler ’61

Jonathan T. Carder ’68

Wallace P. Carson Jr. JD’62

James A. Fitzhenry JD/MBA’81
CEO, Abom Optics, Inc., Owner, Roy Manufacturing, Profile Laser

Eric M. Friedenwald-Fishman ’88
Creative Director/Founder, Metropolitan Group, LLC

Allan Brian Gard ’68
Senior Partner, Gard Communications

Alan C. Goudy ’51

William R. Haden
United Methodist Conference Lay Representative

Stuart A. Hall ’62, JD’65

Dale C. Harris ’55
United Methodist Clergy (Retired)

Melvin Henderson-Rubio ’74

Dale M. Hermann ’65, JD’69
Director, CorSource Technology, LLC

Henry H. Hewitt JD’69
Senior Counsel, Stoel Rives, LLP (Retired Partner)

Douglas G. Houser ’57
Senior Counsel Emeritus, Bullivant Houser Bailey PC

George W. Hoyt ’58

Mary K. Hughes JD’74
President, John C. Hughes Foundation

Peter C. Kremer ’62
President, The Kremer Company

Eric B. Lindauer JD’66
Arbitrator/Mediator, The Law Office of Eric Lindauer

William D. Long ’59
Chairman/CEO, Devco Properties, Inc.

Joan H. McNamara ’59

Thomas E. Neilsen MBA’86

Robert W. Nunn ’72
Business Counselor at Law (Retired)

Robert G. Packard ’73
Partner, ZGF Architects, LLP

Claris C. Poppert ’57

Melissa Smith Ph.D.'79
Principal, Artkos Organizational Design & Development

Patricia (Patsy) C. Smullin
President/Owner, California Oregon Broadcasting, Inc.

Guy C. Stephenson ’73
President, Westwood Shipping Lines Incorporated (Retired)

Kerry R. Tymchuk ’81, JD’84
Executive Director, Oregon Historical Society

Roderick C. Wendt JD’80
Vice Chairman, JELD_WEN Holdings Inc.

Steven E. Wynne ’74, JD’77
Private Investor