About the Senate

ASWU’s Legislative Branch is embodied in the ASWU Senate. The ASWU Senate consists of eighteen senators; each of the four graduating classes of the CAS are allocated four seats, and the ASP Body is allocated two seats. Senators are elected by their respective constituents in annual elections held in the spring, and serve a term of two consecutive semesters. Once elected, senators decide amongst their class caucuses as to whom should serve in each Senate Role.

Duties of the Senate

The ASWU Senate is constitutionally assigned the following responsibilities:

  • To investigate and report on any area of student life.
  • To propose legislation to serve the needs of the student body.
  • To levy and allocate funds of the Association and the ASWU Endowment.
  • To meet when called upon by the President of the Senate or President Pro Tempore.
  • To meet in an emergency session when called upon by at least two members of the Executive Board.

Senate Meetings

This semester, ASWU meets every Thursday night from 7–8 p.m.; these meetings are open to the public. The ASWU Vice President runs these meetings as the President of the Senate. The ASWU Vice President also nominates a President Pro Tempore, who runs Senate meetings in the event that the ASWU Vice President is absent. The Senate Parliamentarian offers guidance and structure to meeting discourses.

Meeting Locations and Dates:

ASWU meets every Thursday night from 7–8 p.m., in the Montag Den.

Willamette University

Associated Students of Willamette University

University Center Second Floor, SEAL Office
900 State Street
Salem Oregon 97301 U.S.A.

Back to Top